• Two Es’hail-2 (QO-100)-Related Awards Presented

    From ARRL de WD1CKS@WLARB to QST on Wednesday, May 08, 2019 20:04:42

    Satellite veteran Peter Gülzow, DB2OS, was the recipient of the Louis Varney Cup for Advances in Space Communication, one of two Es'hail-2 (QO-100)-related awards at the RSGB annual general meeting on April 28 in Birmingham, England.

    Gülzow was recognized for his leadership of the team responsible for the QO-100 - the first geostationary Amateur Radio satellite - now in service.

    Dave Crump, G8GKQ; Phil Crump, M0DNY; Noel Matthews, G8GTZ, and Graham Shirville, G3VZV, were recipients of the Fraser Shepherd Award for Research into Microwave Applications for Radio Communication. They were recognized for enabling access to QO-100 by the Amateur Radio community through the development and installation of a narrow-band transponder WebSDR and wide-band transponder spectrum monitor. The WebSDR and spectrum monitor allows listening to stations on the narrow-band segment using only a standard web browser. - Thanks to AMSAT News Service

    ■ Synchronet ■ Whiskey Lover's Amateur Radio BBS